American Library Association Committee on Accreditation Actions Taken – Spring Meeting 2013

Issued July 25, 2013

Members of the 2012-2013 ALA Committee on Accreditation: Brian L. Andrew (Chair), Elizabeth Aversa, James Benson, Anthony Bernier, Joan Giesecke, Joan Howland, Ling Hwey Jeng, Barbara Moran, Laura Neumann, Mary Stansbury, Vicki Williamson, Arthuree Wright.

At its Spring Meeting, held April 12-13, 2013, the ALA Committee on Accreditation (COA) did the following:

Accreditation decisions

Granted candidacy status to the Master of Science in Library Science program at Chicago State University

Made an accreditation decision regarding one program. The decision is pending.

Reports

Reviewed and responded to 25 biennial narrative reports, 61 statistical data reports, one conditional status progress report, one revised plan for removal of conditional accreditation status, two annual candidacy status progress reports, and three special reports from accredited, candidate, and precandidate programs.

Committee Matters