American Library Association Committee on Accreditation

Actions Taken – Annual Conference 2013

Issued July 25, 2013 Updated October 30, 2013

Members of the 2012-2013 ALA Committee on Accreditation: Brian L. Andrew (Chair), Elizabeth Aversa, James Benson, Anthony Bernier, Joan Giesecke, Joan Howland, Ling Hwey Jeng, Barbara Moran, Laura Neumann, Mary Stansbury, Vicki Williamson, Arthuree Wright.

The Committee on Accreditation took the following actions at its June 29-July 1, 2013, meeting:

Accreditation Decisions

Other Committee & ALA Matters

Met with ALA Executive Board Liaison to COA, Molly Raphael.

Honored outgoing COA members Brian Andrew and James Benson.

Discussed the ongoing review of the Standards for Accreditation of Master's Programs in Library and Information Studies.

Conducted an open program entitled "Accreditation Transparency and Information Disclosure: How Bare is Fair?"